PostPostself…

I’ve been considering the development of a PostPostself portal, a spinoff of sorts — a reflection of the making process of Postself. It would consist of documentation and reflection on the process of becoming a reflective networked self (as opposed to being a non-reflective networked self). I would explore the challenges, struggles, and rewards of contemplating one’s actions and thoughts while making a project that engages with Facebook. This is very meta….yet perhaps fitting for our complex times.

[*Note: I tend to lean towards other writers who think the “post” is over with….we are posted out. So perhaps I would go with the title of Superself or Alterself, in reference to the other prefixes put forth. For now, because of the double-meaning implied with my use of “post” I will stick with it.]

For my posts on Postself, I keep a text file on my desktop where I “scribble” ideas down as they come to me – how I feel about my relationship with Fbook, what it makes me think about, etc. I date these ideas so that I can refer to them in a chronological manner when looking back on my journey. I then revisit them when I find the time to publish posts to the blog. Some of these comments extend beyond how my relation to Selfpost, and move toward an “unfolding of insights” (Irwin, 2003) about the larger network culture we exist with/in.

Self-reflexivity can be a challenge. Of course Postself is fun and rewarding, but it is quite isolating as well. You know when you have just finished reading a really great book or watching a really great film, and nobody you talk with seems to share the same enthusiasm? Immersing in Postself can feel exactly like that. It’s an enriching process that I become absorbed into, an ongoing experience that means much more than what it appears on first glance. Then again, I guess I have just described what is common to the practices of many artists.

The difference with Postself is that it attempts to redefine where and how art can exist (of course, not the only art out there that does this) and chooses to occur in relation to and with/in Facebook. Thus, from the screen surface, it can be viewed as play, which it is, but hopefully there is more to it.

… | … | … | … | … | … | …

July 17, 2010: Can Postself reinsert art into life, as opposed to life into art? Are these the same things?

July 24, 2010: IDEA > Provide an instructional format for participants to respond to (ie. mail art).

August 26, 2010: Do I want to fight to get peoples’ attention in Facebook? Postself is becoming a dangerous tongue and cheek that involves “selling” and nagging. How can I get more “followers” to participate? How can Postself be recognized as collaborative?

September 6, 2010: Is Postself getting in the way of my marriage? Recent excitement to new Postself followers….but I am alone in this sense of victory. “You are more than this”….”But, I AM this”…

September 6, 2010: I am oscillating between first person and third person and embracing this. Heidi is Postself. Postself is Heidi. Postself is Postself.

… | … | … | … | … | … | …

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

