Who pokes and why?

I don’t get it. I had my first poke experience yesterday and am left baffled...

It was from a “non-friend” but someone whom I wouldn’t mind being a Friend. I didn’t know what else to do so I poked back. If it had been someone whom I did not want to be my Friend, I simply would have avoided it. The “poker” and myself did end up confirming our FB Friendship but I’m not so sure I like how the whole transaction was initiated…

What is the deal with virtual “poking”? What is Fbook etiquette with poking and other virtual acts of giving and receiving?

In real life, you wouldn’t go up and poke someone that you haven’t been in touch with for years, would you? I guess it might depend on the kind of relationship you once had. Now that I think about it, the above said “poker” was actually the type to “poke” in real life so I guess it wasn’t all that out of character. But, then again, that was high school. On the other hand, Facebook is a lot like high school….which was one of the reasons I avoided it for four years until I forced myself to embrace it as a space for learning and expanding my networked self. Until I am confronted with the decision of whether to attend a “real-life” high school reunion, I will allow myself to be “poked”…for the sake of an authentic Postself.

  1. whopokes_comments.png

  2. whopokes_part2_comments.png

  3. I absolutely dislike poking. I don’t understood what the whole purpose of it is. I recently wrote a post about it. Would love for you to read it: http://tannideb.wordpress.com/2011/10/29/the-top-5-things-i-hate-about-facebook-social-media-site-stalk-comments-grammar-error-poking-complicated-relationship/

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

